Marcus Rashford, Nikita Parris and Alex Scott Feature on the Football Black List for 2021

Influence stretching beyond the field of play 💪

October 26th 2021

Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford, Arsenal’s Nikita Pariss and presenter, pundit and former professional footballer Alex Scott, have all been selected on the 2021 Football Black List.

The Football Black List, founded in 2008 by sports journalists Leon Mann and Rodney Hinds, highlights positive influencers from the Black community in the sport.

The full list features individuals and organisations from across the footballing industry within areas including Administration, Coaching & Management, Commercial, Community, Players, LGBTQ+, Media and Practitioners. Votes are cast by a panel of experts from the football industry and the black community on nominations put forward by the public.

Other legends included on the list include Brentford striker Ivan Toney, Spurs manager Nuno Espirito-Santo, Referee Jawahir ‘JJ’ Roble and Football v Homophobia’s Amy Allard-Dunbar.

The Voice Newspaper is the home of the Football Black List which also shines a light on deserving people working at the community and grassroots level of the game who often go uncelebrated.

The Football Black List also contains the ‘Ones to Watch’ list which highlights talented, young people under the age of 30 from an African or Caribbean background who are making an impact within the football industry in the UK.

The section was named after Ugo, who played for Aston Villa, Middlesbrough, Rangers and England during his career and latterly was a coach at Tottenham Hotspur before he sadly passed away in April 2017. He was a great supporter of the initiative and had previously received a ‘Ones to Watch’ award for his contributions as a talented, young coach.

Check out the full Football Black List 2021 below:

Players Off The Pitch

Anita Asante, Aston Villa Women
Cyrus Christie, Fulham
Ivan Toney, Brentford
Marcus Rashford, Manchester United and England
Nikita Parris, Arsenal Women and England


Dayne Matthieu, head of safeguarding and welfare, Tottenham Hotspur
Fleur Robinson, chief executive, Wrexham
Paul Monekosso Cleal, equality advisor, Premier League
Sarah Ebanja, chief executive, Tottenham Hotspur Foundation
Steve Smithies, chief executive, Cheshire FA

Coaching and Management

Darren Moore, manager, Sheffield Wednesday
Justin Cochrane, head of player development, Manchester United
Nuno Espirito Santo, manager, Tottenham Hotspur
Paul Hall, Under-23 head coach, QPR; assistant manager, Jamaica
William Boye, chairman and manager, Ashford Town Women and Girls’ FC


Claudia Wilmot, operations director, Leaders in Sport
Gus Hurdle, executive producer, EA Sports
Javan Odegah, strategic account executive, Leaders in Sport
Remmie Williams, commercial manager, the FA
Simbi Sonuga, senior account manager, Octagon

Community and Grassroots

Andrew Laylor, school partnership officer – Manchester United Foundation
Aneequa Prescod-Wright, coach, Hackney Laces FC
Billy Grant, England fan/podcast/blogger, Beesotted
Jawahir Roble, football coach and referee, Jason Roberts Foundation
Patsy Andrews, grassroots referee, The FA


Amy Allard-Dunbar, youth panel education officer, Football v Homophobia
Ade Oladipo, presenter, DAZN/talkSPORT/Sky Sports
Alex Scott, presenter, Football Focus
Andrew Spence, series producer, Unedited
Fadumo Olow, social media sports editor, The Telegraph
Helen Campbell, multi-camera director, Premier League Productions


Aji Ajibola, referee, FA Council
Daniel Mills, educator, Show Racism the Red Card
Drew Christie, chair, BCOMS
Jackie Ferdinand, director of safeguarding & inclusion, West Ham United
Liz Ward, director of programmes, Stonewall

Ones To Watch

Ajani Pile-Gray, creative director, 3LanceMedia
Jamie Dapaah, equality, diversity and inclusion executive, Fulham FC
Kyle Walker, presenter and reporter, Sky Sports News
Lauren Ferdinand, team assistant, Refresh Sports
Liam Loftus, presenter/content creator, BBC Sport
Rhys Denton, youth coach, Reading FC
Richard Amofa, editor, The Athletic
Sian Marie Fitzpatrick, youth mentor, head coach, manager of Millwall Academy and The Wall
Susan Fagbohun, producer, ITV Sport
Zem Clarke, graphic designer and illustrator

Massive shout out to all who were selected for their influential work within their communities and the footballing landscape.